Niklaus Wirth Award

 The International Pascal Congress (IPC) considers it essential to implement measures that promote the development of Pascal and technologies based on this language within the computer science field. Among these actions is the creation of awards to stimulate and strengthen the Pascal community. The IPC will grant one award in honour of Niklaus Wirth, a pioneer in the creation of programming languages and the designer of Pascal. The Niklaus Wirth Award for the Most Valuable Contributor to Pascal is intended to recognise individuals who have made decisive contributions to improving, developing, and strengthening the community of those who use Pascal programming languages in any variant to develop software.

If you like our initiatives and you want to help to promote Pascal, you can do it by making a donation or being a sponsor with your company. All the information to support Pascal is in the following link.

Supporting Niklaus Wirth Award

NWA for the Most Valuable Contributor

Title:  Lazarus and FreePascal.

Summary:  Lazarus is a cross-platform IDE for Free Pascal. It includes. Free Pascal is a GPL'ed compiler that runs on Linux, Windows, macOS, FreeBSD and others. Free Pascal is designed to be able to understand and compile Object Pascal syntax, which is OOP. Unlike Java which strives to be a write once run anywhere, Lazarus and Free Pascal strives for write once compile anywhere. Since the exact same compiler is available on all of the above platforms it means you don't need to do any recoding to produce identical products for different platforms. Lazarus and Free Pascal are developed by the Lazarus and FreePascal Foundation. The main projects of Lazarus and FreePascal Foundation are:

● Bringing Pascal to the Internet

● Making Lazarus the best UI for programming. 

● Bringing Pascal to educational institutions - for students starting at a young age.


Speaker: Detlef D. Overbeek

Placeholder Picture

: Designer Academy of Fine Arts. Advertising, printing and publishing during practice. Started with computers in 1993. Started in Delphi version 1 with Pascal and became a professional developer specialising in database design and user interfaces. Did a year of programming architecture at the Open University in Amsterdam. In daily life busy with publishing and writing articles and books for the only journal left on the market: Blaise Pascal Magazine, available in two languages: English and German. Currently, he is President of the organisation in Holland that publishes books and the Blaise Pascal Magazine, (Official name: Stichting Ondersteuning Programmeertaal Pascal), Director of LazarusFactory.BV in the Netherlands, which does Pascal work for companies and President of the Lazarus and FreePascal Foundation, supporting and funding all projects done in FPC and Lazarus.

Speaker: Michael Van Canneyt

Placeholder Picture

: Michael Van Canneyt has more than 30 years of Pascal programming experience, starting with Turbo Pascal 3. While working on his PhD in theoretical physics, he joined the Free Pascal team, where he is responsible for writing the website, documentation and end-user libraries. He also programs professionally in Pascal: anything from administrative systems to mobile apps to big data has landed on his plate. Currently he is employed by Tixeo, a software firm, where he is porting the flagship software from Delphi to FPC. In addition, he is the founder and technical lead of the Lazarus Factory. 

This award is intended to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to improving, developing and strengthening the community of software developers using Pascal in any of its variants for software creation.

If the candidate wins, he/she agrees to give a plenary lecture in person after receiving the prize on a topic of his/her choice related to Pascal programming languages or tech-nologies associated with the Pascal family.

The award will be presented by the Deputy Rector for Research and Transfer of the University of Salamanca.

Nomination period: 05/06/2023 – 06/05/2023
Award announcement:06/24/2023
Ceremony: 07/03/2023


                                    Dr. Johannes W. Dietrich

                                      Michalis Kamburelis
                                      Primož Gabrijelčič
                                      Michael Philippenko
                                      Antonio Zapater Vera

                                      Emilio M. Pérez Martín

Sponsored by

Placeholder Picture

International Pascal Congress® is a registered trademark.